Russ Ray

Trying to become more like Jesus

Getting back in the game

4 Comments

Whoever is faithful in small matters will be faithful in large ones.—Luke 16:10 (GNT)

I’ve thrown a pity party for myself the past 5 months.

“My ministry was taken from me.”

“I have no outlet for using my gifts.”

“They used me, and then they burned me out.”

Sounds pretty pathetic, right? I mean, the only thing missing is the “woe is me.” Let’s get out the violin music and throw a pity party because look at what happened to ME.

Well, that was me… pathetic AND selfish… until I realized that what I needed to do was to start making God’s kingdom my priority instead of my “ministry”.

I don’t have a ministry, and even if I did, it belonged to God in the first place. He gave it to me and He can take it away too. Job had way more going on than I did, and he figured that out within the first chapter.

God really spoke to me a couple of weeks ago through some teaching from Steven Furtick in his OnePrayer message. He said that we often sit around thinking up what we could do for God “if only” we had more money, more gifts, more skills, more church support, etc.

His response was, “What do you have now? What can you give now?” We waste all our time thinking about what we could do “if only” we could do something in the future with what we don’t have and don’t consider what we can do now with what God has already given us and then allow God to do what only he can do.

So, what do I have?

I don’t know yet.

I decided to start a list of gifts that God has given me that I can offer back to His kingdom. I’ve never thought about taking inventory, so my assignment this week before posting this was to come up with 5 gifts that I could use to further God’s kingdom:

1) I can write, and I think I can write well, because I’ve been doing it professionally (and now semi-professionally) for about 10 years.

2) I have an encyclopedic knowledge of pro wrestling (larger than what is probably healthy).

3) I’m pretty creative, and at our old church I wrote 4 summers worth of VBS programs ripping off based on reality TV, pirates, superheroes, and time travel.

4) I don’t have quite the encyclopedic knowledge of comic books, video games, and sci-fi movies that others have, but it’s still a pop subculture I can associate with.

5) Well, I’m still working on that fifth one.

So, what about you? Can you think of one tangible gift that you can offer back to God today to further His kingdom? I would be interested to hear your thoughts in the comments.

4 thoughts on “Getting back in the game

  1. First of all thank you for getting back to blogging. This post has put me in a state of thinking. Thinking….

    • Glad to hear that you are thinking… that is only half the job 🙂 I’d like to hear the outcome once you figure it out.

  2. Glad to see you up and running again. I thank God every day for the gifts he has given me. My stroke a few months ago was a real motivator to remind me of Gods presence in my life. God led me to acting which I never believed I had a talent for. I perform plays now on a routine basis to present Gods word or a message. I also have began presenting messages in sermon form also a “talent” I would not have pursued without Gods intervention.
    So, I kicked it off, maybe someone else will jump on board. Hope to see you Saturday. Oh yeah no comments on my West Central Indiana Grammar Mr Teacher !!!
    RDL

    • Dave, that is awesome… there are many ways we can use artistic expression to share the Gospel with others. I think that our God as a creator has shared a lot of that with us when He made us in His image.

      I’m glad that you’re getting back to performing again. I saw the picture you had from Hello, Dolly! My wife got to do that one a couple of years ago at Ben Davis and she had a lot of fun. And, I would never insult your Grandma! 😉

Leave a Reply

