Russ Ray

Trying to become more like Jesus

For fear of a blank page

Leave a comment

For I know the plans I have for you, declares the Lord, plans for welfare and not for evil, to give you a future and a hope.—Jeremiah 29:11 (ESV)

When I started all this blogging last week, I thought I would be a writing machine. I was going to crank out something every day in 15 minutes and dazzle everybody and it was going to be easy and fun and just like the old days when I wrote 15 times a day.

In reality, it’s a chore sometimes. The time that I get to do it is not when it is most enjoyable (after 10 PM when I’m ready for bed or before 6 AM when I’m still waking up). Some of my blogging time is devoted to housekeeping chores and publicity. And, let’s be honest, there are times when I just don’t know what to say. Keeping notes helps a lot, but right now, this post is all about a whole lot of nothin’. Got no ideas today, folks.

If we still used typewriters, starting a blog post would be like staring at an empty page. You know that you need to fill it, and you know that it will need to say something worthwhile if you want people to read it. But if you can’t think of what to put on the blank page, what do you do?

Every day we wake up, there is a blank page right there in the typewriter. What are you going to do with it? Are you going to fill it up with a bunch of junk? Are you going to fill it up with a bunch of worthless diversions? Are you too afraid to put anything on the page at all, afraid you’ll be judged or criticized?

Better yet, can you give yourself over to the author and perfecter of our faith, and let God use you to share your story to the world instead? In fact, he knows the entire story before you do. Do you struggle with telling your story sometimes?

Leave a Reply

