Russ Ray

Trying to become more like Jesus

Saturday morning funnies

Leave a comment

Through somebody I follow on Twitter, I found out a couple of weeks that Qubo is running a “night owl” block after midnight that consists of He-Man and the Masters of the Universe, She-Ra: Princess of Power, Bravestarr, and Ghostbusters (basically, the entire Filmation afternoon block of the 1980s).

I told my wife about it, and after we started talking, we realized that Saturday morning cartoons (as we grew up with them) are no more. Cable networks are devoted to 24-hour cartoon programming. On demand services let you watch shows whenever you want. DVDs and downloads let you watch entire seasons of cartoons at a time. Kids don’t really get up on Saturday mornings now and grab a bowl of Fruity Pebbles and watch the Smurfs.

When I was a kid, I looked forward to the comic books that came in August, because that’s when the three networks would advertise their new Saturday morning lineups. That was the only way I knew of what favorites would return, what new shows would debut, and what existing favorites were getting revamped. This happened all the time with my favorite Saturday morning show, the Superfriends.

After Erika and I talked about it, I thought it would be great to bring that back, but for grown-ups. So tomorrow, I’m starting a new feature called Saturday Morning Funnies, videos and cartoons that you can have a chuckle over while you’re eating your cereal in your pajamas, just like it used to be. Meanwhile, what were your favorite TV shows to munch your breakfast by? Leave your favorites in the comments.

Leave a Reply

