Russ Ray

Trying to become more like Jesus

I’m going to Disney World!

2 Comments

And he carried me away in the Spirit to a great and high mountain, and showed me the holy city, Jerusalem, coming down out of heaven from God, and the twelve gates were twelve pearls; each one of the gates was a single pearl. And the street of the city was pure gold, like transparent glass.—Revelation 21:10, 21 (NASB)

Where does every athlete who wins the Super Bowl say he’s headed?

The same place I’ll be heading today: Walt Disney World.

Before last year, I’ve gone to Disney World twice in my life: once with my dad and brother when I was 14 and then 20 years later with Erika to Epcot. Sure, it was fun and all, but I guess I forgot most of that.

Last year, we finally got to take our kids, who were 3 and 1 at the time. It was completely different from any other experience at Disney World I’ve had. Going to Disney without kids is like watching a 3D movie without the glasses. You get the overall picture of the place when you go on your own, but with kids, they get into all the “magic” and believability of the ambience that the Magic Kingdom has to offer.

We have some great memories of last year, and I’m all ready to make some new ones this year. Here are some favorites while I’m thinking about it:

  • Everywhere we went, Madison was called “princess” by the cast members, but I think the best thing they did for her was to give her a special ticket that allowed her to drive the boat on the Jungle Cruise. She still talks about that one.
  • At Epcot, we were in line to meet Belle, but it was late in the day and hot and Sydney was starting to freak out. Before she met with Maddie, she stopped to play peek-a-boo with Sydney to cheer her up.

I admit it. I’m hooked now. I’m a Disney freak. I never thought I would be, but I blame the kids now that I will probably spend an extra $10,000 now in my lifetime to get into their parks.

And even then, as great a place as Disney World is, it’s not going to compare to Heaven. Compared to Heaven, Disney World is like parking in the lot and riding the tram to the place where you wait to get on to the monorail to finally get into the park. It’s going to be way better, so even if you think of the best experience in your life, the best is yet to come.

Where’s the most magical place you’ve ever visited? It doesn’t have to be a theme park or a vacation destination maybe, but what have you experienced that gives you joy and happiness and wonder like that? And just think, that is only .000000000000000001% of what Heaven will be like.

2 thoughts on “I’m going to Disney World!

  1. Fuddruckers.

    No, REALLY.

    THEY HAVE AN ENTIRE VAT OF LIQUID CHEESE AND YOU CAN TAKE AS MUCH AS YOU LIKE!

  2. Funny thing… we ate at Pecos Bill’s in Frontierland and they had the same thing for DIY cheese fries… made me think fondly of Fuddruckers.

Leave a Reply

