Russ Ray

Trying to become more like Jesus

Are we there yet?

Leave a comment

And the people complained in the hearing of the Lord about their misfortunes, and when the Lord heard it, his anger was kindled, and the fire of the Lord burned among them and consumed some outlying parts of the camp. Then the people cried out to Moses, and Moses prayed to the Lord, and the fire died down. So the name of that place was called Taberah, because the fire of the Lord burned among them.—Numbers 11:1 – 6 (ESV)

Now the rabble that was among them had a strong craving. And the people of Israel also wept again and said, Oh that we had meat to eat! We remember the fish we ate in Egypt that cost nothing, the cucumbers, the melons, the leeks, the onions, and the garlic. But now our strength is dried up, and there is nothing at all but this manna to look at.

I spent $750 on airline tickets so I wouldn’t have to hear that question over and over and over again for 48 hours.

You see, when I originally started planning this Florida vacation back in May, I thought we would save money by renting a car and driving from Indiana to Florida. I figured we were getting a rental car anyway, so we would save money by not buying the tickets.

My wife, however, was the voice of wisdom and came in around July suggesting to me that we might want to fly. 2 hours trapped in a plane versus 2 days trapped in a car was a good trade-off.

Otherwise, I would have heard that question, “Are we there yet?” over and over and over again all the way down the road.

In trials, I have the same attitude. I don’t want to be stuck in the car for 2 days… I want the quicker and more pain-free trip that takes 2 hours. I don’t want to be in the midst of trial for days, weeks, months, or even years on end. I want the quick fix, the magic pill that will get me better so I can go on with what I want to do.

But that’s the problem. That attitude considers only what I want to do and not what Jesus wants to do. He is the founder and perfecter of my faith. If the trip takes 2 days or 2 weeks or 2 months or 2 years or an entire lifetime, He is on me with that trip. What does He want to teach me? What does He want to show me?

Are you on a similar journey right now? Are there any lessons you are learning? If you have any advice for the rest of us you’d like to share for when we want to ask, “Are we there yet?”, would you mind leaving some in the comments?

Leave a Reply

