Russ Ray

Trying to become more like Jesus

What I learned on my winter vacation

2 Comments

A wise man will hear and increase in learning, and a man of understanding will acquire wise counsel.—Proverbs 1:5 (NASB)

I mentioned last week that me and the family went to Walt Disney World last week. Here are a few tidbits of information that I thought I would share about what I learned on the trip:

  • A 10-day trip was fabulous 8 years ago on our honeymoon. Two kids later, that is an abysmally long time to be trapped in the car with 3 other people.
  • Bring the laptop on vacation. ALWAYS.
  • It’s not realistic to drag your kids from one end of Florida to the other over 4 days and then expect them to be perky and happy the next day when you go to the Magic Kingdom. Then again, it seems that every other parent there had the same unrealistic expectation.

  • If you stand an hour or more in one line at Disney for character greetings, that is okay. If you do this twice a day over five straight days because you never got a Tinkerbell in your line, then you might have a problem. (More on people who are too Disney-obsessed later this week.)
  • The TSA people in Indy are friendly. The TSA people in other airports… not so much. Also, it helps to have somebody in security that can clearly communicate with you in what is obviously a high-stress area.
  • By the way, all the media hype about pat downs, body scans, and rectal exams was clearly overrated. Either this was cancelled before Thanksgiving or they were too busy to perform them.
  • It is too difficult to keep up with what is going on in the world while on vacation, so I don’t. I apologize in advance if I don’t know what the latest scandal, natural disaster, pending law or entertainment trend of the week is. I didn’t spend 8 hours a day in the hotel room glued to the TV.
  • It is scarily easy to get away from God while on vacation. If I were a church in a vacation destination, I would build right off the interstate and advertise it as a place for people to come either before the parks open or after they close. And we would have services every day. Yeah, it’s a crazy idea, but out-of-towners have no ideas about places to go.
  • I would much rather interact with Disney characters who can talk over the mascot suits. I took a pot shot at Lady Tremaine and her daughters while passing by (you probably know them as Cinderella’s wicked stepmom/sisters) to the effect of that her kids are ugly and their mom dresses them funny. She responded quickly by saying, “Sir, I would hate to tell you what I think of your daughters!”
  • On the other hand, 3-year-olds love the mascots because they can kiss them… um, hope they Purel those costumes…
  • You should take one trip to Hollywood Studios during Christmas to see the Osborne lights. They are phenomenal. Words can’t describe them. There is music everywhere. There are lights everywhere. You can just hang out, enjoy the warm Florida evenings and just check out. And for those of you who think that Disney hates Jesus, there is a nativity scene and aerial lights of the Magi and the shepherds.
  • For those of you who think that Disney hates Jesus, there is Kwanzaa stuff at Epcot, so once that holiday finally takes off, you have something to be upset about. By the way, I think I heard a 60/40 mix of secular Christmas carols vs. songs that reference Jesus. So, there’s another reason to get bothered… that 10% majority.
  • There were a lot of homeschooled kids there last week. I planned our vacation on purpose for a week that kids would be going back to school, and still there were lots of school-age kids there. There were also lots of people from other countries, so I suspect they count on the same thing too.
  • I found that Animal Kingdom is slightly overrated. Most of what I saw there I could see in a zoo, except it was from the back of a truck.
  • FastPass is your friend. Use it, and use it well.
  • And finally, it’s always good to come home.

What have you learned on vacation? Drop a line below in the comments.

2 thoughts on “What I learned on my winter vacation

  1. Living in Orlando I get to see lots of families on vacation. It’s not always pretty 🙂

  2. I would imagine so… I read a mom’s recent travel journal to Disney, and she was pretty much set off by the place because of some moms behaving badly.

    I think I know why people act that way though: the place is so expensive that you feel to get your money’s worth that you have to squeeze every bit of blood from that turnip to feel you had a great vacation. When you think others are getting in your way, they go into panic mode to protect their investment.

Leave a Reply

