Russ Ray

Trying to become more like Jesus

2010’s greatest hits

Leave a comment

The Lord does not delay and is not tardy or slow about what He promises, according to some people’s conception of slowness, but He is long-suffering (extraordinarily patient) toward you, not desiring that any should perish, but that all should turn to repentance.—2 Peter 3:9 (AMP)

This is the time of year when all the requisite “Top 10 of 2010” lists come out. When I used to write for another website, we did one of these every year, and I gotta tell you… I can barely tell you what I ate for lunch last Tuesday. Telling you what my “best of 2010” or my favorites for the entire year involved a 10-day research effort.

Why do we devote so much time and energy to the best/worst of the year? Some of these lists I can understand… it seems that the national news always has a New Year’s Eve segment that runs through famous people who died in the previous year. I guess one last tribute can never hurt.

In a world where millions of events are captured for posterity on Facebook, Twitter, YouTube, blogs and everywhere in between, you are bound to find everyone’s best and worst moments of the year captured somewhere.

For me, the end of the year is a time to take accounting on the blessings in my life. Christmas kind of gets in the way of that for me with all the materialism, but the end of the year is a great time to take inventory. Everybody gets a clean slate on 2011 when January 1 gets here.

I am blessed with a supportive Proverbs 31 wife, two beautiful daughters and a third baby on the way, three jobs that pay the bills when many are struggling to find one job, a Savior that loved me enough that He paid for my sins so I wouldn’t have to suffer the punishment, and a host of talents and interests that have been given to me by God to make me who I am.

It is easy to mope around and gripe about all the stuff we don’t have or the things we wish we had. In fact, I realize now that one of my first posts was to promise myself to write a list of 5 things that I could offer to God right now. I have to say that I’ve failed pretty miserably on that accounting and have gone back into my selfish tantrums. As if God owes me something!

Thankfully, our God gives second chances. Thankfully, our God teaches us what we did wrong to make that change, to be more of Him and less of ourselves. Thankfully, every day is January 1 to God, every new day is an opportunity to make today the best day we can for the kingdom.

What will you be reflecting on for this New Year? Drop a note in the comments.

Leave a Reply

