Russ Ray

Trying to become more like Jesus

Dead and buried

Leave a comment

And compassion is on its way to us. You’ll stamp out our wrongdoing. You’ll sink our sins to the bottom of the ocean.—Micah 7:19 (MSG)

I wasn’t sure I was going to post today on New Year’s Eve… lots of stuff going on. I have another day off, errands have to be run, a party tonight and all that… but I thought of something last night that I really thought needed to be shared, and today was the best day to do that.

One of my favorite songs is Audio Adrenaline’s Ocean Floor. It reminds us that God doesn’t remember our failures when we are faithful to confess them.

So why are we always so content to drag our baggage around if God has forgiven them? Maybe it’s because they comfort us in a twisted way. Maybe it’s because others want to remind us to make themselves feel better. Maybe it’s because the idea of a loving God forgiving our sins is too radical a concept for us to grasp.

The other day I talked about taking stock of our 2010 and looking for the blessing we have received throughout the year. The problem is that a lot of people are also going to look at regrets and failures over the year as well.

I have not been the disciple of Jesus that I should be.

I have not been the husband I should be.

I have not been the father I should be.

I have not been the employee I should be.

I have not been the servant I should be.

Now, I have seen improvements in all those areas, which leads me to believe that God knows my heart is seeking improvement in those areas. But when I place all those roles against the standard, it is obvious I am falling short.

The problem is that some of us will carry that baggage into 2011. We will be content to be half-hearted and weak-minded because that’s the way we’ve always been. We’ve never accepted that life in Jesus is a fresh start. Every morning is a chance to make that day the best day of your life.

So, if you have heavy burdens and failures weighing on you today, my prayer is that you will dig a hole (not literally, unless that is your thing) and bury 2010 today. Let that weight come off of you and move into 2011 with new purpose. Let your life in Christ lead you into the New Year with excitement and anticipation that He will make moments that will take your breath away, that your spouse and your children will remember for a lifetime, and that will matter to people for an eternity.

Is there something you need to bury in 2010? You’ve got less than a day to figure it out.

Leave a Reply

