Russ Ray

Trying to become more like Jesus

Things you learn in an ice storm

2 Comments

By the breath of God ice is given, and the broad waters are frozen fast. He loads the thick cloud with moisture; the clouds scatter his lightning. They turn around and around by his guidance, to accomplish all that he commands them on the face of the habitable world. Whether for correction or for his land or for love, he causes it to happen.—Job 37:10-13 (ESV)

Indy has been hit with an ice storm the last couple of nights. Here’s what I’ve learned:

Ice takes a long time to melt. It took me about an hour to get the car (coated in a quarter-inch of ice) ready for work yesterday morning. I was thankful that working defrosters made the job easier, but I also needed a hair dryer and a screwdriver to pry the door open. By this morning, I’ve probably got at least a half-inch of ice over the driveway that won’t start melting until Sunday.

Ice shuts down the town. I think almost every school in the state of Indiana closed down yesterday. Because of that, most of the people in the office didn’t go in to work yesterday to stay home with their kids. Because of that, work called at 7:30 to let us know that the office was closed for the day. Too bad I had already left home at 7:00.

Ice makes your kids go crazy. This is probably why everyone stayed home with their kids yesterday. They knew if they left their little monsters run wild at home that they would return to a burned-down shell of a house. No exception here either… I think the girls had about 17 costume changes throughout the day and tortured their poor mother while she was trying to take a nap. Also, I guess we were watching a LOT of local news about the weather, because someone’s imagination ran wild:

It’s not often that a princess delivers your weather.

Ice makes you go crazy. I wasn’t even back home for two hours yesterday when I decided that I had to go back to the store to pick up some frozen pizzas… and some pop… and some pest control items… and coffee creamer… and a video game at Blockbuster… I have now resolved to stay inside our frozen castle until I have to leave, which will probably be whatever day I have to go to back to work this week.

Ice knocks out your power.Ours was out for about 2 to 3 hours last night. It flickered several times before finally going out for good, but since it was dark and the kids were already in bed, we decided to go to bed a little early too. Thankfully, I woke up around 1 AM and saw that the lights were back on, got the furnace running, and nobody was too cold, I think. Everyone had plenty of blankets and someone else to keep them warm. I felt strangely disconnected with the world with no TV, no internet, no games, and no *gasp* Facebook.

Ice is pretty. Yeah, it may be a frozen death trap driving around out there and there is the danger that a tree or a power line could snap at any moment, but it is beautiful when you look out there and see your yard glistening and slick, like somebody just enameled it.

God is still awesome. Anybody can have snow in the winter… God usually reserves these kinds of storms for us every 10 – 20 years or so. The last time I remember having to break into the car from a freezing rain was when I was in college, and the last time we lost power was the big one in ’91. We were out of school for a week and out of power for two weeks. I also remember driving the county roads in Dad’s big truck and seeing the phone lines drooping on the ground because of the ice.

I am a big weather junkie anyway… love watching weather stuff and going through storms and such. I think it’s just awesome to see God’s handiwork and might displayed all at one time. It really shows you with all the stuff we have and all the technology at work that you still can’t stop God.

2 thoughts on “Things you learn in an ice storm

  1. That was the best weather report I have seen in a long time. That young lady is very talented!

  2. She’s also well-dressed.

Leave a Reply

