Russ Ray

Trying to become more like Jesus

Sit down, shut up

Leave a comment

Be still, and know that I am God. I will be exalted among the nations, I will be exalted in the earth!—Psalm 46:10 (ESV)

I’ve been sick the last few days, and quite honestly, I am the worst patient in the world. It’s probably a good thing I’ve never been in the hospital, because I would probably sit there and complain at the nurses all day long to let me go.

I’ve spent a lot of my sick time napping in bed or on the couch, which I also hate… sleep is such a waste of time! At least, that’s what I used to think when I would stay up until 1AM and wake up at 6. Part of the reason I started blogging again was as a morning discipline. So far, it’s not worked out as well as I had hoped.

I haven’t felt like blogging while I was sick, because I was either too miserable to sit at the computer or too tired to put something coherent together. I doubt anybody wants to read, “and then we were sitting in the drive-thru at Wendy’zeralkaqwer a;laerg;larew wrgfa;lrwe vnearlkaag ggjjjjjjjjjjaerlk aerzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz…………..”

God has always had boundaries in place for us in regards to rest. The big one is obviously the Sabbath. Did God need to take a day off after taking 6 days to make the world? No, but he knew we would need one.

Our need for rest is a reminder that we do not have the limitless energy of God in ourselves. The older I get, the more I realize that the all-nighters I was able to endure in my 20s are like walking death to me now. The more I stay up later, the more I realize that I am usually spending my time late at night in the middle of worthless pursuits, or worse, allowing my inhibitions to weaken for more dangerous activities.

I used to think that I was a “night person” who did my best work after 9PM. Now, I realize that taking more time in the morning and not rushing through it to get to work is a better idea.

Jesus called out the disciples in Gethsemane for not staying awake while he was crying out to God the night before his journey to the cross. Now, if there was any activity that would necessitate pulling an all-nighter, praying for the Savior in his time of grief would be one of them. Me staying up until 3AM playing Zynga Poker, not so much.

Times of rest and reflection are necessary to recharge our batteries, to prepare ourselves for what God wants us to do, and to just get all those noises and distractions out of our heads for a few minutes to be still and listen.

Are you a night owl or a morning person? Can you pull off both?

Leave a Reply

