Russ Ray

Trying to become more like Jesus

Send anyone else

1 Comment

I know I haven’t blogged in a while, but I didn’t realize until now that it’s been almost a month. Work has been very busy lately, and I took on a class that I haven’t taught in a while that also carries a considerable workload.

So, I realized that I do have some stuff in the can, and this particular verse spoke out to me. Normally, I teach this in the very same comm class that I’m working on right now, but with a different theme.

But Moses pleaded with the Lord, “O Lord, I’m not very good with words. I never have been, and I’m not now, even though you have spoken to me. I get tongue-tied, and my words get tangled.”

Then the Lord asked Moses, “Who makes a person’s mouth? Who decides whether people speak or do not speak, hear or do not hear, see or do not see? Is it not I, the Lord? Now go! I will be with you as you speak, and I will instruct you in what to say.”

But Moses again pleaded, “Lord, please! Send anyone else.”—Exodus 4:10-13 (NLT)

Those last three words really stuck with me: send anyone else.

How often do I use those words to get out of something that I find painful or difficult?

We’ve been talking about missions at church recently, but I need to make my family my first priority before going to another country to meet the needs of others. Send anyone else.

We’ve been talking about loving others in our community, but I am too embarrassed to say that love is not always my first priority when it comes to others, and I don’t want to be the one who turns someone away from Christ. Send anyone else.

There are times that I want to share my story of salvation, but I’m afraid of who will end up reading it. I’m afraid of the judging that will occur. I suppose it might help someone, but there are others who are stronger with a better story than mine. Send anyone else.

There’s no ministry or program that I feel uses my gifts, but here are some others that I’m not gifted in that need help. That’s okay… send anyone else. I’ll just wait for an opening in the one that I’m looking for that will make me comfortable.

Is God calling you to something that is difficult to do without Him? Is He calling you to do something that you don’t have the tools to handle naturally? Maybe that’s the point after all…

One thought on “Send anyone else

  1. Nice to have you back, Russ. Great food for thought. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

