Russ Ray

Trying to become more like Jesus

In your head

4 Comments

Blessed is the man who walks not in the counsel of the wicked, nor stands in the way of sinners, nor sits in the seat of scoffers; but his delight is in the law of the Lord, and on his law he meditates day and night.—Psalm 1:1-2 (ESV)

I’ve had an annoyance to deal with for the past couple of weeks. I’m not sure how it got in my head in the first place, but I’m sure it’s from his Grammy video with the Muppets that I saw online.

Yes, the song “F–k You” somehow got stuck in my head. No, not the tamer “Forget You” version that Cee Lo Green did with Gwyneth Paltrow and Jim Henson’s merry band. I just had to click one of those links to the side on YouTube to get the full-blown version in all its F-bomb glory. I could only take about 30 seconds of it, because in the video they have a kid hurling the 4-letter invective, but that was certainly enough.

Fast forward to Dad’s foray into the hospital last weekend, and guess what’s still rattling around inside my head? You guessed it… Dad is fighting for his life and all I can think of is “Na-na nah nah nah na-na nah nah nah”. Sometimes I substituted the clean version for the explicit version, sometimes I didn’t.

Fortunately, I was able to find the mute button when I went into the  hospital chapel to pray. When I went out into the hallway, guess what the soundtrack was again?

I haven’t been keeping up on my Bible-in-a-year plan this week, and when I needed to be in the Word even more while Dad was in the hospital, it seemed like something or other was always keeping me away. Once I got back into the Bible this week and started catching back up, Cee Lo and his friends started to go away.

When Paul warned that a little leaven leavens the whole lump, he wasn’t kidding.

How do you get an annoying song out of your head?

4 thoughts on “In your head

  1. I hate that! Jesus talked about the “garbage in-garbage out” thing where whatever you put into your mind, that’s what comes out. When this happens to me, it’s a reminder that I need to stop putting junk in m head and put good stuff in there.
    Hope that helps.

  2. Start singing praise and worship songs. Get a little Chris Tomlin/David Crowder/Lincoln Brewster mix and you’ll be good to go!

    Now I’m singing, “I see you driving round town with the girl I love…” Oh, for the love, that is catchy!

  3. GIGO is exactly right… and I think it’s not the words so much that’s catchy as it is the melody, but of course, every commercial has to have something catchy get helpless morons like me to pay attention and buy their stuff with the money I don’t have. It’s all a vicious cycle.

Leave a Reply

