Russ Ray

Trying to become more like Jesus

Counting sheep, blessings

3 Comments

I lie awake thinking of you, meditating on you through the night.—Psalm 63:6 (NLT)

When I go to bed, I usually try to do one of two things: try to forget what happened that day if it wasn’t so great, or try to think of good things and ideas for the next day that I will hopefully remember in the morning.

I am usually a pretty sound sleeper, so I don’t usually get up in the middle of the night. My wife has been doing this a lot lately, because she’s pregnant and the baby likes waking up at 3 AM in utero for some reason. Hoping that’s not a trend in August… anyway, she likes to tweet in the middle of the night, and usually it’s something about what she’s been reading in the Bible or reflecting on that night.

My wife has a lot more fortitude than I do. If I woke up at 3 AM, I would probably check Facebook, and then Twitter, and then pull up Zynga Poker and play until I pass out in the chair. But this goes back to what I was talking about the other day. You have to fill your head with God in order to crowd the rest of the crap out of your head.

This Scripture is talking about night, but the concept is a night or day thing. If you constantly have God on your mind and God in your heart, then you will always have God in your thoughts and react to others with love as God would. And, I guess I’m just not there yet.

Do you have a favorite nightly ritual? Does it have something to do with God?

3 thoughts on “Counting sheep, blessings

  1. I’m a sound sleeper and can count on one hand the number of times I couldn’t sleep through the night in the last ten years.

    When are you guys due?

  2. Yeah, I’m the same way… I don’t usually know she’s up when it goes on.

    We’re due August 14… this will be the third and last August baby.

  3. Late-night television and the occassional prayer. That’s it for me.

Leave a Reply

