Russ Ray

Trying to become more like Jesus

God’s plan

4 Comments

The Lord will work out his plans for my life—for your faithful love, O Lord, endures forever. Don’t abandon me, for you made me.—Psalm 138:8 (NLT)

Last weekend, I considered writing a post entitled “So long…” with the only text “…and thanks for all the fish.” It was to be a farewell post (if you don’t get the joke). Really, who could have blamed me? I’m still working through my dad’s issues since his stroke 3 weeks ago, and I’m pretty sure I will be working on his affairs will be a part-time job for the next 3 months. After that, I guess I can trade part-time jobs to become Daddy a third time, so that’s a push.

I have two more real part-time jobs on top of that. I teach grown-ups for two different colleges. I don’t really talk much about that, but I did quit one of them this week, so maybe that will help some of the stress factor.

I read all these people who know more about blogging than me say that I need to post every day. I wonder where I can fit that time with my day job, 2 or 3 night jobs, and making sure I don’t completely ignore my family. I figure if I can’t do that, then maybe I should just give it up until I can.

A month ago, I had other plans about life. Now, it’s about keeping all the balls juggled in the air. I thought it was time to put some of them down.

Until yesterday.

Yesterday, I realized something. My dad’s stroke was March 17. The night I went to the ER to talk to the doctor about his condition, he told me that dad had a 50/50 shot of surviving the next 30 days. This Saturday will be that 30-day mark.

In an evening of sobering realities, that was the punch in the gut.

A month ago, Dad didn’t know where he was or that his whole family was around him. Now, he’s able to talk.

A month ago, Dad could barely move and squeezed your hand to communicate. Now, he’s trying to arm wrestle people with his good side.

A month ago, God could have flipped a coin and decided whether my dad would live or die. Now, he’s alive, and we’re planning where he’s going to spend his recovery.

He’s alive because there is a God who loves him and you and I. He’s alive because communities of believers prayed for his recovery. He’s alive so I can finally sit down with him and (hopefully) have the courage to share the Gospel with him so he knows why he’s been given a second chance.

How can I keep that message quiet?

So, I’m still here, even if I have to sneak away for a few minutes from one of my four jobs to do so. It’s all part of God’s plan, struggles and all.

4 thoughts on “God’s plan

  1. Ah, Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy! One of my favorites. Great to hear about your dad’s progress, Russ. Thanks for the update!

  2. Wow, glad to hear that your dad is slowly and surely recovering. What a tough time! I hear you on the blog world… sometimes there’s never a good time to write, but I’m glad you were able to share some good news with your readers.

    Lindsey @ GrowingKidsMinistry.com

  3. Dude, just blog when you can and don’t worry about what all the ‘experts’ say.

    You’ve gotta do what you’ve gotta do in real life, and the rest comes in a very, very distant second.

    If someone stops reading your blog because you missed a couple days taking care of business like a man, then oh well.

    Plus, your struggles in real life only make your posts more meaningful and heartfelt.

    Still praying for you and your dad!

  4. Keep the faith, right?

Leave a Reply

