Russ Ray

Trying to become more like Jesus

People I want to meet in Heaven

5 Comments

Our friends, we want you to know the truth about those who have died, so that you will not be sad, as are those who have no hope. We believe that Jesus died and rose again, and so we believe that God will take back with Jesus those who have died believing in him.

What we are teaching you now is the Lord’s teaching: we who are alive on the day the Lord comes will not go ahead of those who have died. There will be the shout of command, the archangel’s voice, the sound of God’s trumpet, and the Lord himself will come down from heaven. Those who have died believing in Christ will rise to life first; then we who are living at that time will be gathered up along with them in the clouds to meet the Lord in the air.

And so we will always be with the Lord. So then, encourage one another with these words.—1 Thessalonians 13-18 (GNT)

Things have been depressing around here lately, and while I’ve been wanting to liven things up with another kayfabe post, Mother’s Day made me think of of this.

There are a lot of times where the world wears you down and you start thinking about the here and now. But God wants us to maintain a vision of the future in Heaven where we will eventually be reunited with him, our loved ones, and the entire body of believers.

Here are some of the people I want to meet in that future and what I would like to do when I meet them.

Adam: How long he was in the doghouse after he threw Eve under the bus? “She gave me the apple, so I ate it.” Lucky for him she didn’t pass some lutefisk or a handful of used cat litter.

Noah: I’ll buy him a drink. No, I’m kidding. I’ll ask him about his favorite nude beach.

Abraham: I wonder if we could get a chorus of “Father Abraham” out of him.

Esau: I just want to see this insanely hairy guy with my own eyes… then find out if he’s hungry.

Jacob: I want to know if that whole “wrestling with God” thing was in the Greco-Roman style or the more modern “catch as catch can”, because I’m imagining a 60-minute Broadway match with Jacob getting a couple of comebacks before his hip broke.

Moses: Actually, I’m not sure I want to talk to him. All the stuff with the signs and wonders and the blood scare me.

Bezalel: I want to know if he built the tabernacle with union workers. I’m pretty sure he didn’t, because that thing lasted for hundreds of years.

Nun: I want to know if Joshua’s dad pronounces his name like “noon” or “none”… because a male nun is sure to invite some snickering.

Solomon: I have this sudoku I’ve been trying to solve…

Jonah: I want to find out if he really had a traveling buddy with a Middle Eastern accent or if that was just something made up by Veggie Tales. Wait, maybe I already know the answer to that one…

Matthias: What exactly did he do after he became an apostle? He kind of got shafted in the Bible after Acts 1.

Philip: So what was it like getting carried away by the Spirit? I’m envisioning some sort of Star Trek transporter-type effect. In fact, I’ll bet that’s where Gene Roddenberry stole it from.

Eutychus: Dude, how do you fall asleep when the greatest evangelist in Biblical history is preaching?

John: I will be waiting for the director’s cut commentary of Revelation when I get there.

John the Baptist: Not sure, but I probably wouldn’t eat lunch with the guy.

Ezekiel: Him too.

As you read the Bible, a lot of this stuff runs through your head (well, maybe just me for some of these).

Seriously, the most amazing thing about Heaven will be standing face to face with Jesus, being with the Lord in direct fellowship, and being reunited with loved ones who have already died: my mom, my grandparents, Erika’s Papa (who I never met) and Bossie, and many others. It will be the biggest family reunion in history.

I just hope there’s enough potato salad to go around.

What are you most looking forward to in Heaven? Are you living like that is your destination?

5 thoughts on “People I want to meet in Heaven

  1. Russ-
    Thanks for the chuckle – as well as the deeper thoughts to ponder. I really appreciate your blogging!!

  2. Hi Russ,
    Just wanted to say thanks for dropping by my blog “The Micks Grill”. I’m enjoying your blog. Keep up the good work.
    Mike

  3. You’re going to be busy in the Afterlife1

Leave a Reply

