Russ Ray

Trying to become more like Jesus

FML

2 Comments

For I am sure that neither death nor life, nor angels nor rulers, nor things present nor things to come, nor powers, nor height nor depth, nor anything else in all creation, will be able to separate us from the love of God in Christ Jesus our Lord.—Romans 8:38-39 (ESV)

Disclaimer: yes, 2 out of the last 7 posts have dealt with the F-word. That’s because it seems that 2 out of every 7 words that people seem to utter these days is the F-word.

I see a lot of friends post “FML” on their Facebook and Twitter. Because I’m over 25 and don’t text (which makes me 278 in technology years), I had to look it up on Google (which those younger than 17 in technology years call “googling it”—is that really a verb now?)

I digress: “ML” stands for “my life” and “F” stands for… you guessed it, not the word “forget”.

If you’re not a Christian, then it’s fine to say that. Bluntly, you probably have a messed-up life like the rest of us, except that you’re trying to do the best that you can with what you’ve got, but that probably isn’t enough to get by.

If you’re a Christian (and I know of some who have used this phrase), you’re basically telling God to go f-off.

The trials that He’s putting you through to refine and test your faith, who needs it?

The blessings that He’s given you (family, friends, air to breathe, a roof over your head, a car, a job, food in the fridge, clothes in your closet, a little plastic and silicon piece of technology to communicate with others), they don’t matter.

I want my life to be like ______________’s, because they have it all together.

If ______________ was hit by a bus this afternoon, that would solve all my problems.

If I owned a certain product, people would see me differently.

But what are you really saying? I don’t need God.

I don’t need God in my trials. I would rather have something else than God (or maybe that something else IS your god). Even if you’re spiritual, you might complain that someone else doesn’t need God’s blessing or that you need it more than that other person, so God really doesn’t get what’s going on.

How stupid. How short-sighted. How selfish.

99% of the people in the world earn less than $42,000 a year. If you have a job, a house, a car, a house for your car… you are a rich person, incredibly blessed. You sleep in a bed, not on floors of concrete or dirt. You have heat and air conditioning. You have a lock on your door to keep out burglars, rapists, and murderers. These are luxuries for most people and they are simple things we take for granted.

Instead of saying FML, let’s say, “Thanks for the trials, because I know God is behind them and He loves me and He wants me to grow. He doesn’t want me to stagnate.”

Have you ever said FML or had the urge to say it?

2 thoughts on “FML

  1. I think I’m a bit old for that particular phrase, but I do have some handy standbys in my back pocket!

    Thanks for the reminder that even the bad and/or frustrating things happen for a reason.

  2. Good point. Whether it’s the exact phrase or something else, it’s the sentiment behind saying it is the issue. I’ve been really convicted about allowing my faith to stretch me lately and not taking the happy path. It’s my nature to avoid it, but I’m getting tired of it.

Leave a Reply

