Russ Ray

Trying to become more like Jesus

Checking out

Leave a comment

Check-Out-Time-Sign-K-5370You know the world is ending on Friday, right?

Seriously, it can’t come soon enough. I’m getting really tired of paying for all these student loans.

It will be the one vacation I take with my family where all the kids get along.

There’s a lot of stuff I’m looking forward to. I’ll get to see my mom again and introduce her to her granddaughters. I’ll get to see grandparents I missed and reunite with old friends. I’ll get to see the baby that didn’t make it… maybe the son I never had.

I’ll probably see one or two (hundred thousand) people who are not like me where I’ll be like, “God let him/her into Heaven?”

I’ll probably pause in sadness over some people that I won’t see there…

Everybody says that they want to talk to Moses and Abraham and David… I bet they’ll get the longest lines. Will they hand out autographs in Heaven?

Do you have to buy an 8×10 glossy for them to sign? Or a cookbook?

I want to talk to guys like Ezekiel and John the Baptist–those guys were OUT THERE. And they probably have great stories to tell too. Did Bear Grylls ever eat wild locusts or food that was cooked over flaming poop? I think not…

Best of all, the Savior will be there to greet me. I hope there’s something good for me when I get there. I hope He tells me, “Well done, good and faithful servant! Come and share your master’s happiness!”

But it will be enough for me just to be there. Let me be a janitor in Heaven sweeping up the sidewalks… how great would it be to walk around through that scenery and work in it? Let Jesus come!

Then again, I think God would be better off not proving the Mayans and their sun dials right. After all, just because you stop counting the years in 2012 doesn’t mean it’s a supernatural sign that the world is ending. We already know the truth about what happens and how long it takes.

Leave a Reply

