Russ Ray

Trying to become more like Jesus

I don’t know what to write

4 Comments

With my new job, I’m afforded a lot more time to get back to old pursuits.

The problem is, I don’t know what to write about. I know I should* write something, and regularly, but I’m not sure what.

I can’t write about SPAM® anymore. For some reason, my spam folder has decided to get raunchy over the last year or so.

I hate sounding preachy. And I think I write that way a lot.

I seem to have lost my touch at humor beyond 140 characters. Do you see that out-of-place asterisk three paragraphs above? Was there anything funny after that?

Come to think of it, there isn’t much before either.

So, I’m asking for advice. Should I chuck everything, go the Twitter route and come back later? Do you want me to hit you in the head with a Bible every day? Or, should I finally open the spam emails with the subject “Life is short. Have an affair?”

(kidding on that one – I wouldn’t open them, but that is really what I seem to be getting a lot of, for some reason, which makes me think Yahoo! has not done much with their spam protection lately)

I think I have 2 readers left, so your vote could really sway things!

4 thoughts on “I don’t know what to write

  1. I wouldn’t worry about it. Write what you want, when you want. Who cares how regular it is? Sure it feels good when the hits keep coming all in a row, but that doesn’t last. What I’ve found is that those I value reading my stuff will see it when it gets posted, and it doesn’t matter what it is. I write silly stuff, serious stuff, fiction and kazoo videos, and those that are worth it come and see it all. And the rest doesn’t matter.

  2. Good points… I guess I keep hoping that someday I will become the tall Jon Acuff, but he’s been at it a lot longer and a lot steadier than I have.

    • Then I guess it’s up to what your goals are. If you want to be the next Jon Acuff, then get hustling.

      But for me; I honestly think that’d be exhausting. I’m not prepared to sacrifice what he’s sacrificing to get where he is. It isn’t me. This isn’t a knock on Jon, it’s just not for me. Some advice he gave me – define success before you start. Then you’ll know when you’ve ‘made it’ and can avoid the ‘it’s never enough’ syndrome.

      I had been blogging for years (different blogs than what I have now) without a single comment. I decided success for me was one comment per post. Then I quit looking at analytics and page views and referral links and all that garbage that stresses you out.

      I write what I want, when I want. I quit being a slave to my blog, which is a very silly thing to actually write out. Now I enjoy what I write, and I get more than a comment per post.

      I think folks can tell when a blogger is desperate or ready to call it quits. It shows up in the writing, and I’ve been there. I also think folks can tell when you’re just being yourself and content with it, and they respond to this better.

      • So, after I complained about this today, I scheduled 3 more blog posts for this week during lunch. All of them have different voices/moods. I don’t think that I got the answer to my question yet, but I guess I got going again. Hopefully, I can just try and keep consistent with it.

        Good thought about what Acuff said… I got really bitter about blogging for a while, but you’re right about one thing. I wasn’t willing to make those sacrifices either, and I’m glad that I’ve set that boundary. On the other hand, there are times I could be working when I’m not, and I don’t seem to have developed that habit yet.

Leave a Reply

