Russ Ray

Trying to become more like Jesus

You can catch more flies with honey, and then they die

Leave a comment

“And which of you by being anxious can add a single hour to his span of life? If then you are not able to do as small a thing as that, why are you anxious about the rest?”—Luke 12:25-26 (ESV)

My wife and I are buying life insurance because my new job doesn’t offer it, so we went to a lab yesterday to get all of our vitals. We had a couple of issues with the scheduling, being double-booked once and then booked for tests in different locations. It was enough of a mess that the district manager called on her day off Saturday to try to straighten it all out.

honeyflyWhen we got there yesterday, wouldn’t you know it… there was another mishap and the office didn’t receive the paperwork from the insurance company. Fortunately, the manager was intrepid enough to tell me to save her number in case there was a problem.

So, I called her, and 5 minutes later, she called back to let me know that she had explained everything. It should run smoothly, but she wanted a callback when I finished so that she knew for sure everything was okay.

My wife was done in record time. I waited 45 minutes before I got in, but really… that was the least of struggles after all that baloney before. When I called the manager back, she told me that we were the “applicants of the year” and she was thankful that we were so easy-going after all the problems on their end.

I thought two things: one, if we’re the applicants of the year and it’s only February, she must be dreading the rest of 2014.

Two: why would the typical clientele shopping for life insurance be so difficult to deal with?

Let’s be honest, life insurance is really death insurance. You only get to collect on it when you die. People who would be upset over life insurance must have something serious that they’re worrying about. It’s probably they know their health isn’t so great and they’re worried about something happening to them before the insurance is approved.

I won’t say that’s not a concern of mine. After all, I am the sole breadwinner of our home, and part of our discussion about getting this insurance revolved around that fact.

However, I know that we serve a good God who will take care of all of my girls after I am gone. We belong to God’s family, who will help out my family when I am unable to be there. And even now, God is preparing them all to be the women he wants them to be.

I guess if you were afraid of dying and even more afraid that your family would not be able to move on afterward, that would be a heavy burden on your heart. However, when you are in God’s family, he doesn’t want us to worry.

And now, we feel like grown-ups!

Is there anything that you’re worrying about today?

Leave a Reply

