Russ Ray

Trying to become more like Jesus

Survey says: do you clean your plate?

Leave a comment

When I was a kid, my mom made me clean my plate at dinner every time. If I didn’t, she would guilt me into how wasteful it was and how all the kids in Ethiopia could have eaten that food and whatever. (Never mind the fact that FedEx wasn’t around yet to overnight that wasted food to Ethiopia and anything slower would have resulted in some little kids eating spoiled meat loaf.)

Anyway, I still have that thought in my head when I eat, but the thing that I wasn’t taught when I was a kid was how full the plate should have been. We had spaghetti for dinner last night, and I dutifully gave one of our kids three platefuls of spaghetti. I didn’t think it was a big deal at the time because I didn’t give her that much to eat on each of those plates. Fast-forward to four hours later: she’s sick in the bathroom hurling up spaghetti and my wife is ruing the decision to put me between the girl and the spaghetti bowl.

So, when you read a story like this one, it makes you wonder how much food we’re actually wasting, how much is actually going to our waists, and maybe because we’re an overportioned society we are either eating too much or using too much food and throwing it away. And, here’s my question for you: do you generally clean your plate when you eat?

If you actually pick it up and lick it, you might not win etiquette points, but you get bonus points in my book.

Leave a Reply

