Russ Ray

Trying to become more like Jesus

A signpost to Jesus

Leave a comment

The students that I teach in college are all adult learners who have returned to school in their late 20s on up to their 60s sometimes to get their college degree. They all have a balancing act to perform as adult learners: responsibilities at work, home, and maybe even a church, and sometimes trying to even fit in time for a personal life.

I try to use my personal examples as much as possible to let them know it’s not impossible, and it can be done, by God’s grace. I finished up my 70-page Master’s thesis writing late at night while feeding a 6-month-old baby on my lap. My wife birthed two children (one of which ended up in the NICU) in the middle of her pursuit of a Bachelor’s degree.

Sometimes, though, students let me know of situations they are dealing with beyond my experience. I was grading papers this morning and an adult student felt transparent enough to share with me some struggles she is having with her teenage daughter. The daughter suffers from depression, and her father has chosen to take a hands-off approach, leaving her mother (this student) to deal with it on her own.

jesus-one-way-sign-arrow-photoWe are told as instructors at our Christian university that when students share information like this that it is an opportunity to inject Scripture into their lives. So, I looked up 1 Peter 1:5, “By God’s power we are being guarded through faith for our salvation.” I let her know that even though she may be going through a trial, God is protecting her and her daughter by faith for His ultimate glory.

In reality, this should be my attitude not just as a teacher, but as a follower of Christ. I need to be that signpost on the road that others are journeying on that points the way to Jesus.

Would you pray for the following today?

  1. Pray that God would bring into your life someone vulnerable sharing their need for Jesus.
  2. Pray that God would give you the Word that person needs to hear today that moves them closer on the path toward our Lord and Savior.
Leave a Reply

